The ONLY Sugar Cookie Recipe You Need

Just trust me on this one – this is the BEST sugar cookie recipe I’ve tried, and I’ve tried a LOT of them! It makes a ton, it tastes delicious (both baked and raw because you know I eat at least 2 cookies-worth of dough and so do you), and it HOLDS ITS SHAPE while baking which if you’ve ever made cut-out sugar cookies, you know that is the dream right there!

I went to a bachelorette weekend over the long Memorial Day weekend and decided to bring some cookies along with me. I used this tried and true recipe and y’all… they turned out AWESOME! Yes the icing is the best part, but the cookie just tastes so good, too. There were even some “professional” decorated sugar cookies at the bridal shower that weekend, and I dare say that mine tasted WAY better. (The other girls said the same thing, so just trust me and make this recipe ASAP!)

Big Batch Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:
2 cups butter, room-temperature
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. salt
3 tsp. baking powder
6 cups flour

Instructions:
Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
Cream butter and sugar together until fluffy.
Add eggs and vanilla and mix together.
Mix dry ingredients and add to the butter mixture, mix well.
Chill for 1 hour.
Roll out the dough to 1/4 inch thickness and cut with cookie cutters.
Bake for 8-10 minutes.
Cool 2 minutes on the baking sheet before removing to cool completely on wire racks.

Some notes on the recipe!!

I usually end up baking them for about 8 minutes and 30 seconds. You don’t want then to bake for too long or they’ll get to crunchy. When you take them out of the oven, they might look like they still need some cooking time but trust me, they’ll be perfect once they cool.

Make sure you chill the dough for at least the full hour! It makes the dough easier to roll out and helps the dough keep its shape while baking.

Try REALLY hard to get the dough rolled out evenly and to the right height. Too thin and the cookie will be too crispy, too thick and it will be too soft.

Bake the cookies on parchment paper! I just find it to be helpful.

Each time I make these cookies it seems to be a little different, but add the last cup of flour VERY SLOWLY. Sometimes I need the full 6 cups, sometimes the dough seems perfect at 5 3/4 cups. Just keep mixing until all the dough is incorporated and there aren’t any dry bits at the bottom.

Because you chilled the dough FOR THE FULL HOUR, the cookies won’t really spread when baking, so you don’t need to spread them out too far on the baking sheet.

I’ve actually shared this recipe before, but it’s just so good that it demanded to be shared AGAIN!!! The previous post also had a recipe for glaze, but don’t use that one because I’ve updated how I make it and how I use it and I plan on making another, more detailed post about that in the next few weeks or so.

 

One thought on “The ONLY Sugar Cookie Recipe You Need

  1. Pingback: Five for Friday #42 | My Name Is Not Katie

Leave a comment