(Adorable) Lazy Day Hair

Hello from St. Louis! I flew up for the weekend to go to my 10 year high school reunion and to see my other friends and I’m having a blast! It’s been great to see my college friends and I’m actually really glad that I went to the high school reunion. It was fun to see my friends again and all the familiar faces and catch up with people that I had classes with and used to see every day in school!

I wanted to post something easy and fun today, so I thought I’d share my go-to lazy day hair style: a dutch braid and a messy bun. I wear it… a lot. Most likely if you see me on the weekend, this is my hairdo. It’s so easy to do and it also works GREAT with wet OR dry hair! A.k.a. you can do it with dirty hair or with wet hair if you’re running late!

braid

Super cute, right? I thought so, too! And it’s seriously so easy. The hard part is just learning how to dutch braid. Here’s how to make this happen on YOUR head!

  1. Grab a small section of hair and divide into three parts.
  2. Do a dutch braid down the side of your head. To do this, take one outside section of hair, grab a little bit of hair along with it, and put that UNDER the other two strands. Now take the the other outside section, grab a little bit of hair along with it, and put it UNDER the other two strands. Keep doing that until you get to about your ear, then continue with a regular braid.
  3. Pull the rest of your hair, along with the braid, into a low ponytail and make a messy bun. (You don’t need a messy bun, I guess, but I always have one! I can’t stand hair sticking to my neck!)
  4. Gently tug on the braid to “fluff” it out and make the braid look nice and full!!

I know that I definitely didn’t explain the dutch braid very well, so here is a GREAT little video to explain it a little better!

The thing I love most about this version of the dutch braid is that you don’t need thick hair to make it look great! The pulling and fluffing of the braid can make even thin hair look super full and amazing. Try it out and let me know how it worked for you!

4 thoughts on “(Adorable) Lazy Day Hair

  1. Seriously I don’t know how you did it so beautifully!! I have been trying to do this for so long, and it always looks like a disaster. Plus, I have brown hair like you and I find the braid seems to blend in with the rest of my hair. I found a tutorial that only uses two strands instead of three, and that’s the best I can seem to do, but I wish I had your skill. You got it down! Nice job!

Leave a comment